Josh Turner to Release First Christmas Album and Sets Holiday Tour

Turner Announces Holiday & The Hits, First-ever Christmas Tour

Multi-platinum-selling recording artist Josh Turner is releasing his first-ever Christmas album, King Size Manger, October 8 on MCA Nashville. The holiday project features fresh interpretations of the classics and introduces four originals, three of which were written or co-written by Turner. Plus, Turner is joined by very special guests including Turner’s wife and four boys singing a holiday classic, a family tradition Turner wanted to feature on this special album. In support of the album, Turner will embark on a 16-city Holiday & The Hits Tour, culminating at Nashville’s Ryman Auditorium, where the album will come to life alongside Turner’s most notable hits.

“Making a Christmas record can be a mighty daunting task for an artist,” says Turner. “There are so many songs to choose from and there’ve been so many versions of those songs throughout history. It can be intimidating to know whether you’ll be able to measure up to what’s already been done and when I get to that point, I step back and remind myself that I have to do what I hear in my heart. You may be surprised to hear my arrangement on some of these songs that you know so well. We had a lot of fun throwing out all the preconceived notions of what a Christmas record should sound like. In my opinion, it’s about the words and the heart and soul of how a song sounds. You don’t need jingle bells on a song to make it a Christmas song.”

Turner arranged five of the 11 tracks on King Size Manger and its four original songs include the solo penned “Mele Kalikimaka My ‘Ohana” featuring world renowned ukulele virtuoso Jake Shimabukuro and Grammy-nominated Hawaiian trio Ho’okena. Turner also wrote “What He’s Given Me” with Pat McLaughlin, as well as the title track “King Size Manger” with Mark Narmore. The album also includes the poignant Travis Hill/Tom Douglas track “Soldier’s Gift.” Christmas music fans will also find the beloved classics “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas,” which features Turner’s wife Jennifer and his four children, as well as “Joy To The World” featuring Rhonda Vincent the queen of bluegrass.

Official album teaser featuring Josh Turner:

King Size Manger Track Listing:

  1. Angels We Have Heard On High
  2. What He’s Given Me (Featuring Pat McLaughlin)*
  3. King Size Manger*
  4. Joy To The World (Featuring Rhonda Vincent)
  5. Soldier’s Gift*
  6. Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas (Featuring The Turner Family)
  7. Go Tell It On The Mountain
  8. Mele Kalikimaka My ‘Ohana (Featuring Jake Shimabukuro and Ho’okena)*
  9. The First Nowell
  10. Santa Claus Is Comin’ To Town
  11. Silent Night, Holy Night

Produced by Kenny Greenberg
*denotes original

Josh Turner King Size Manger

Holiday & The Hits Tour Schedule:

  • 11/18 Holland, MI – Holland Civic Center
  • 11/19 Springfield, IL – University of Illinois PAC
  • 11/20 Joliet, IL – Rialto Square Theatre
  • 11/21 Rockford, IL – Coronado PAC
  • 11/26 Panama City Beach, FL – Aaron Bessant Park
  • 11/27 Memphis, TN – Soundstage at Graceland
  • 11/28 Meridian, MS – MSU Riley Center
  • 12/2 Prescott, AZ – Yavapai College PAC
  • 12/3 Maricopa, AZ – Harrah’s Ak-Chin Casino
  • 12/4 Las Vegas, NV – The Venetian Theatre
  • 12/10 Riverside, IA – Riverside Casino
  • 12/11 Prior Lake, MN – Mystic Lake Casino Hotel
  • 12/16 Midland, MI – Midland Center For The Arts
  • 12/17 Wisconsin Dells, WI – Crystal Grand Music Theatre
  • 12/19 Royal Oak, MI – Royal Oak Music Theatre
  • 12/20 Nashville, TN – Ryman Auditorium

To pre-order King Size Manger click HERE

To pre-order an autographed CD and limited-edition King Size Manger merchandise click HERE

To purchase tickets to Holiday & The Hits Tour click HERE

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button